The Group of Seven, once known as the Algonquin School was a group of Canadian Landscape painters active  from 1920 to 1933.  The original founding  members were: Lawren S. Harris. J.E.H. MacDonald, Arthur Lismer, Fredrick Varley, Frank Johnston, Franklin Carmichael, and A.Y. Jackson.

They were Canada's first internationally recognized art movement. Strongly believing that Canadian art could be developed through direct contact with the country's vast and unique landscape. The goal was to change Canadian  taste and values through the distribution of painting, articles, and publications, encouraging collectors of Canadian art. The group presented the dense, northern boreal forest of the Canadian Shield as a transcendent, spiritual force. Their depictions of Canada's rugged wind-swept forest panoramas were eventually equated with a romanticized notion of Canada's strength and independence.

The painter Tom Tomson was an important influence on the group although was never a member as so many believe.  A fishing guide and occasional forest ranger, he was an avid outdoorsman, and encouraged the members to paint the rugged landscapes of Northern Ontario. It was there they found the imagery  that would imprint itself on the Canadian consciousness.

If you would like to see a selection of products in the shop by the Group of Seven or Tom Thompson click here



  • JEH MacDonald’s Rocky Mountains, Frank Carmichael’s Algonquin trees, AJ Casson’s Rooftops in the Ward, and Lawren Harris’s strong paintings in the North becoming more and more elemental till they are pure form. I will never be able to pick a favourite.

    Nancy Greenwood
  • Love, love, love the Group of Seven. Having Group of Seven, including Tom Thomson, merchandise available to purchase is so appreciated. Keep up the great work having such an excellent selection of curated products!


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published